CAF Confederations Cup: Al Nasr ends Proline FC dream

first_img Tags: Abdulqaden HamedAbubaker RabiaamAl NasrAlajeeli MuhanadAlmaryami KhalidAlriaydh AbdelrhmanAnorld SsenyonjoBright AnukaniCAF Confederations CupFakroun SalahaldeenHassan MatovuHusayn MuetazIbrahim Albedwi Osamamatia luleMustafa Mujuziproline fcSherif Abdalla Proline were taking part in their maiden CAF Confederations Cup campaign. (PHOTO/Proline FC)CAF Confederations Cup-Playoff Round Proline FC 0-2 Al Nasr (Agg: 2-4)StarTimes Stadium, Lugogo Sunday, 03-11-2019LUGOGO – Proline FC’s brilliant debut season in the CAF Confederations Cup came to a disappointing end on Sunday afternoon after losing 2-0 to Al Nasr.After drawing 2-2 in the first leg, Proline required just a low-scoring draw to progress but it was not to be in the end.Almaryami Khalid and Ibrahim Osama scored the two goals that sunk Matia Lule’s side and in the process ensured Al Nasr progress to the group stages of the competition 4-2 on aggregate.Al Nasr got off to a bright start with Almaryami pouncing on Mustafa Mujuzi’s mistake to slot past Hassan Matovu in the Proline goal.Osama scored the second from a ferocious drive after he was teed up from a short corner.Proline had chances to get back in the game but could not take them.Hamis Kizza had a shot pushed away to safety by goalkeeper Abdulqaden Hamed.Bright Anukani hit the cross bar from a rebound after Mujuzi’s free kick was charged down by the wall.Joseph Mandela also had an effort rebound off the keeper and onto the cross bar.Anukani had a shot driven away by goalkeeper Alriaydh Abdelrhiman, substitute Allan Egaku missed from close range before defender Bernard Muwanga’s effort hit the crossbar.Noordin Bunjo who started on the bench, failed to beat the keeper late on in a one-on-one situation.The result means that Proline bow out of the tournament and will have to wait for another time to reach the group stages.They will however head home with their heads held high after overcoming both Masters Security and AS Kigali in the previous rounds.For Al Nasr, they move into the group stages where they will compete with 8 other teams for the gong.How both teams startedProline FCHassan Matovu (GK), Mustafa Mujuzi(C), Saka Mpiima ,Yusuf Mukisa, Bernard Muwanga, Arnold Sserunjogi, Josep Mandela, Sam Kintu, Hamisi Kizza, Bright Anukani, Ibrahim WamannahAl Nasr Alriaydh Abdelrhman, Abdulqaden Hamed, Fakroun Salahaldeen, Sherif Abdalla, Ibrahim Albedwi Osama ,Abubaker Rabiaam, Alajeeli Muhanad, Almaryami Khalid, Husayn MuetazComments last_img read more